2016 AILA QLD Landscape Architecture Awards

The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards provides a key vehicle for the promotion of the achievements and work of landscape architects in Australia.


In 2014 & 2015, AILA undertook a significant review of its awards categories, objectives and criteria, as well as other aspects of the overall program - to ensure that the program celebrates the depth of practice and contribution of the profession to society. The new program, termed “The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards”, has been developed after extensive research, multiple consultation rounds, and much discussion with members across many platforms around the country.


The main document to help you understand the new program is the Entry Guide. The second document is the QLD submission requirements. Additionally to this, we have provided the Jurors Guide, which elaborates further on the judging process, however is specifically written for prospective jurors.  Finally, the project description form (word format) that is required as part of your submission.

  1. AILA National Landscape Architecture Entry Guide
  2. QLD submission guide and requirements
  3. AILA National Landscape Architecture Jury Guide
  4. Project Description Form

To find out more about compiling your entry including a video from the Chair of the National Awards Review Taskforce as well as case study example of entries please read the National Awards page. Click here to visit the National Awards page.  These examples will assist not only members considering entering in the 2016 awards, but also those 2015 State winners who will need to re-submit their projects in the new submission format.



**Use this link to the online entry form using the awards promo code to gain your first free entry: firstawardsentry2016



Free entry applies to the first entry submitted per practice (per state) where a member is employed.



NOTE: State based specific entry guidelines no longer exist. All entries must now address the National Landscape Architecture Entry Guide along with specific State based requirements outlined in the QLD submission guide and requirements document.

2016 QLD Landscape Architecture Awards Jury


The Jury Chair:

Dr Shannon Satherley- Senior Lecturer - University of Queensland, Vice President, AILA QLD

The Jury:

Mark Frisby-Director - Fitzgerald Frisby Landscape Architecture, Immediate Past National President of AILA

Malcolm Middleton-QLD Government Architect

Wes Mortensen- Coordinator Parks and Recreation Planning - Moreton Bay Regional Council, FAILA

Suzie Rawlinson-Director - IRIS Visual Planning and Design

Jamie Franklin -Principal Place Design Sunshine Coast City Council, Current Chair of AILA SUN

Emily Colling - Honorary Position - 2015 Karl Langer Award Winner


In brief, the structure of the program is;

  • The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards has two stages, both occurring annually.
  • The first is a chapter/state program, followed by the second being the national program.
  • The state awards are held in the first half of the year, and the national awards are held in the second half of the year.
  • Those projects awards an Award of Excellence and a Landscape Architecture Award at state level proceed automatically through to the national awards later that same year- no separate re-submission or fee is required.
  • All entries are to be entered directly into their state awards, there are no direct entries to national awards EXCEPT those to the international category.
  • Projects must be entered in the state where the project is located
  • The Jury will be selected before the entries are called for, and publicised at the time of calling for awards.
  • Projects can be entered in as many categories as the entrant wishes. A fee is required for each category entered.
  • Projects are eligible to be entered into the awards for an unlimited period and can be entered in multiple years if unsuccessful.

In brief, the new fees are;

In 2016, AILA is offering your first entry FREE. We want to encourage all our members to participate in this brand new and improved awards program, and to celebrate our 50th birthday. Free entry applies to the first entry submitted per practice (per state) where a member is employed.

The entry fee to the AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards is now set at $299 +GST, which applies to any subsequent entries made in 2016. The increase in fee allows for automatic resubmission into National Awards (for those eligible), and no further payment is required for those entrants progressing to National awards.

NOTE: All QLD 2015 Awards winners will be contacted directly by the AILA Canberra Office in regards to submitting for the 2016 AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards they are not required to submit for the 2016 AILA QLD Landscape Architecture Awards.




2016 QLD Awards

Key dates

Entries open: Thursday 18 February 2016

Entries close: Thursday 14 April 2016

Awards event: Friday 3 June 2016 - Click Here For Invite & Click Here to Purchase Tickets


Useful documents

Awards Guidelines and Entry Forms

Questions relating to submissions should be directed to the QLD Chapter.

Awards Categories


In brief, our new awards categories are;

  • Category 1:Civic Landscape
  • Category 2:Parks and Open Space
  • Category 3:Infrastructure
  • Category 4:Cultural Heritage
  • Category 5:Land Conservation
  • Category 6:Rural and Agriculture
  • Category 7:Tourism
  • Category 8:Urban Design
  • Category 9:Research, Policy and Communication
  • Category 10:Communities
  • Category 11:Gardens
  • Category 12:International (offered only at national level and not state level)


In brief, our new awards are given as;

(a) Award of Excellence

The first and highest award in each category is the ‘Award of Excellence’.

The award is given to the work judged to be the most significant for the advancement of Landscape Architecture in each category. There is only one winner of the Award in each category in any year.

(b) Landscape Architecture Award

The second tier is the ‘Landscape Architecture Award’.

This is a work of excellence demonstrating consummate skill that contributes to the advancement of landscape architecture. Projects given an Award are the best projects in each category that have not won the Excellence Award. More than one Award may be given in a category.







Principal Corporate Partner - QLD Awards

Major Corporate Partners - QLD Awards

Supporting Corporate Partners - QLD Awards
 QLD Supporting Partners







Tweets Tweet to @AILA_National