AILA WA Awards

The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards provides a key vehicle for the promotion of the achievements and work of landscape architects in Australia.

In 2014 & 2015, AILA undertook a significant review of its awards categories, objectives and criteria, as well as other aspects of the overall program - to ensure that the program celebrates the depth of practice and contribution of the profession to society. The new program, termed “The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards”, has been developed after extensive research, multiple consultation rounds, and much discussion with members across many platforms around the country.

The main document to help you understand the new program is the Entry Guide. The second document is the WA Submission Requirements. Additional to this, we have provided the Jurors Guide which elaborates further on the judging process, however this is written for prospective jurors. Finally the Product Description form (word format) that is required as part of your submission.

1. AILA National Landscape Architecture Entry Guide

2. WA Submission Guide and Requirements

3. AILA National Landscape Architecture Jury Guide

4. Project Description Form

Use this link to the online entry form using the awards promo code to gain your first free entry: firstawardsentry2016

Free entry applies to the first entry submitted per practice (per state) where a member is employed.

NOTE: State based specific entry guidelines no longer exist. All entries must now address the National Landscape Entry Guide along with specific State based requirements as outlined in the WA submission guide and requirements document.

In brief, the structure of the program is:

  • The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards has two stages, both occurring annually.
  • The first is a chapter/state program, followed by the second being the national program.
  • The state awards are held first, and the national awards follow.
  • Those projects awarded an Award of Excellence and a Landscape Architecture Award at state level proceed automatically through to the national awards later that same year - no separate re-submission or fee is required.
  • All entries are to be entered directly into their state awards, there are no direct entries to national awards EXCEPT those to the international category.
  • Projects must be entered in the state where the project is located.
  • The Jury will be selected before the entries are called for.
  • Projects can be entered in as many categories as the entrant wishes. A fee is required for each category entered.
  • Projects are eligible to be entered into the awards for an unlimited period and can be entered in multiple years if unsuccessful.

The following are the key dates for you to take note of regarding these awards:

The AILA WA 2016 Awards working group is pleased to announce this year’s jury:

  • Nathan Greenhill – Jury Chair, AILA WA President
  • Dr Julian Bolleter – Landscape Architect and Urban Designer, AILA WA Medal 2014 recipient (joint with Richard Weller)
  • Melanie Bradley – Landscape Architect and Urban and Regional Planner, PIA WA Co - Vice President
  • Shadra Cooper – Landscape Architect, wAILA Fresh Co-Chair
  • Patrick Ford – Senior Architecture Officer, Office of Government Architect
  • Kent Acott – Journalist, PIA Awards for Planning Excellence 2015 WA – Promotion of Planning category recipient


AILA WA Award Categories


All entries that receive an Award of Excellence or a Landscape Architecture Award will be automatically entered into the National Awards. In line with the National Awards the award categories for the AILA WA 2016 Awards are as follows:

​The new fees are;

In 2016, AILA is offering your first entry FREE. We want to encourage all our members to participate in this brand new and improved awards program, and to celebrate our 50th birthday. Free entry applies to the first entry submitted per practice (per state) where a member is employed.

The entry fee to the AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards is now set at $299 +GST, which applies to any subsequent entries made in 2016. The increase in fee allows for automatic resubmission into National Awards (for those eligible), and no further payment is required for those entrants progressing to National awards.

In brief, our new awards are given as;

(a) Award of Excellence

The first and highest award in each category is the ‘Award of Excellence’.

The award is given to the work judged to be the most significant for the advancement of Landscape Architecture in each category. There is only one winner of the Award in each category in any year.

(b) Landscape Architecture Award

The second tier is the ‘Landscape Architecture Award’.

This is a work of excellence demonstrating consummate skill that contributes to the advancement of landscape architecture. Projects given an Award are the best projects in each category that have not won the Excellence Award. More than one Award may be given in a category.


AILA WA Award Partners

Principal Corporate Partner - WA Awards

Major Corporate Partners - WA Awards
Supporting Corporate Partners - WA Awards
WA Major Partner


WA Supporting Partners


WA Events Partner

AILA WA Past Award Winners

Click on the listed years to view WA Award Past Winners.







Tweets Tweet to @AILA_National