Landscape Architects in the NEWS              australian institute of landscape architects   AILA® 




Catherin Bull



Ken Maher

November 2008



Senator Kim Carr, Minister for Innovation, Industry, Science and Research today said the members of the newly established Built Environment Industry Innovation Council (BEIIC), should champion innovation in the industry.

Speaking at the first BEIIC meeting he said:

"The Built Environment industry is a major economic sector but, like many industries, it faces emerging challenges.

"The Built Environment Industry Innovation Council will address challenges like climate change, sustainability and industry competitiveness as well as issues for the industry such as regulatory reform, workforce capability, skills needs and access to new technologies.

"It is the Government's aim to create sustainable conditions for innovation to flourish and to support its economic, environmental and social priorities.

"The Industry Innovation Councils are critical tools for engaging with stakeholders to strengthen innovation systems.

"If we want to deal effectively with the innovation challenges and opportunities that lie ahead of us, we will have to mobilise everyone who makes decisions about our built environment – policy-makers, professionals, entrepreneurs and consumers. That is what the Built Environment Industry Innovation Council is for.

"The BEIIC is the first of several Industry Innovation Councils.

"The Council brings together representatives from business, the research community, unions and government agencies. Chair of the Council, Sue Holliday, has extensive experience in Urban Planning and was instrumental in establishing the Australian Green Building Council Board.

"The members of the Council are talented leaders and champions across the sector who are doers as well as thinkers. They will advise the Government on the industry's innovation issues and priorities and foster collaboration between stakeholders and Government," Senator Carr said.

Built Environment Industry Innovation Council Membership

Chair: Sue Holliday – Managing Director, Strategies for Change

Greg Barlow – Manager, Sustainable Buildings, Leighton Contractors

Prof Catherin Bull – Elisabeth Murdoch Professor of Landscape Architecture, Faculty of Architecture, Building and Planning, University of Melbourne

Tristram Carfrae – Arup Fellow and Chair, Global Building Sector, Arup

Rod Fehring – Chief Executive Officer, Lend Lease Ventures

Peter Gow – Executive Director, Building Industry Development, Department of Housing and Works, Western Australia

Mal Grierson – Director General, Department of Public Works, Queensland

Associate Professor Ralph Horne – Director, Centre for Design, Programme Leader, Global Cities Institute, RMIT University

Dr Matthew Inman – Program Leader, Urban Systems, CSIRO Sustainable Ecosystems

Prof Martin Loosemore – Associate Dean (Research), Faculty of the Built Environment, University of New South Wales

Ken Maher - Chairman, Hassell

John McCarthy – Chairman, AEH Property

Keith Mitchelhill – Executive General Manager, Clay & Concrete Products, Boral Ltd

Prof Peter Newman – Professor of Sustainability, The Curtin University Sustainability Policy Institute, Curtin University

Dave Noonan – National Secretary (Construction), Construction, Forestry, Mining and Energy Union

Paul O'Keefe – Chief Executive, Australian Coated and Industrial Markets, BlueScope Steel Ltd

Roger Olds – Managing Director, Coffey International Ltd

Pru Sanderson – Chief Executive Officer, Victorian Urban Development Authority (VicUrban)

Kerstin Thompson – Principal, Kerstin Thompson Architects

Siobhan Toohill – General Manager, Corporate Responsibility and Sustainability, Stockland

Commonwealth Representatives:

Dr Michael Green – General Manager, Manufacturing Innovation Branch, Manufacturing Division, Department of Innovation, Industry, Science and Research

Mark Davis – Director, Commercial Building Team, Energy Efficiency Branch, Department of Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts






    AILA home page     ----     News pages
search    | site-map | sponsors | privacy | copyright | refunds | payments | terms of use