About AILA

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects  (AILA) leads a dynamic and respected profession: creating great places to support healthy communities and a sustainable planet.

We provide our members – in urban and rural Australia, and overseas – with training, recognition and a community of practice to share knowledge, ideas and action.

With our members, we anticipate and develop a leading position on issues of concern in landscape architecture. Alongside government and allied professions, we work to improve the design, planning and management of the natural and built environment.

AILA represents over 3,500 (and growing) members throughout Australia and overseas. As a not-for-profit professional association, our role is to serve the mutual interests of our members and the wider profession.

AILA governance is vested in the AILA National Board, which retains ultimate legal responsibility for the whole organisation and provides leadership by setting the strategic direction, budgets, policies and agendas. AILA staff, located in the national office in Canberra and in state and territory chapters throughout the country, are responsible for advocacy, coordinating the delivery of membership services, and implementation of the AILA Strategic and Operational plan and council and local executive decisions. Download About AILA PDF

How it Began

The AILA: 1966 - Present

The Institute had its beginnings at a meeting held during a national conference of the Royal Australian Planning Institute in August 1963 whereby a group of professionals held an informal meeting to discuss the need for a new professional body to represent Australia's Landscape Architects.

In 1966, the agreement was reached to progress to formal status with an interim committee forming the first Australian Institute of landscape Architects with Richard Clough being the Interim Chair. A memorandum of understanding was established and Articles of Association written.

The original subscribers were:
Malcolm Bunzli, George Williams, Ray Margules, Jean Verschuer, Professor Lindsay Pryor, Bruce MacKenzie, David Steane, Harry Howard and Gavin Walkley.

In 1967, this interim committee handed over to an elected Council with Peter Spooner as its first National President.