2016 AILA ACT Landscape Architecture Awards


The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards provides a key vehicle for the promotion of the achievements and work of landscape architects in Australia.


In 2014 & 2015, AILA undertook a significant review of its awards categories, objectives and criteria, as well as other aspects of the overall program - to ensure that the program celebrates the depth of practice and contribution of the profession to society. The new program, termed “The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards”, has been developed after extensive research, multiple consultation rounds, and much discussion with members across many platforms around the country.


    The main document to help you understand the new program is the Entry Guide. The second document is the ACT submission requirements.In addition to this, we have provided the Jurors Guide, which elaborates further on the judging process however is specifically written for prospective jurors and finally, the Project Description Form (word format) that is required as part of your submission.


    1. AILA National Landscape Architecture Entry Guide

    2. ACT Submission Guide and Requirements

    3. AILA National Landscape Architecture Jury Guide

    4. Online Entry Form

    5. Project Description Form


    NOTE: State based specific entry guidelines no longer exist. All entries must now address the National Landscape Architecture Entry Guide along with specific State based requirements outlined in the ACT submission guide and requirements document.

    In brief, the structure of the program is;

    • The AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards has two stages, both occurring annually.
    • The first is a chapter/state program, followed by the second being the national program.
    • The state awards are held in the first half of the year, and the national awards are held in the second half of the year.
    • Those projects awarded an Award of Excellence and a Landscape Architecture Award at state level proceed automatically through to the national awards later that same year- no separate re-submission or fee is required.
    • All entries are to be entered directly into their state awards, there are no direct entries to national awards EXCEPT those to the international category.
    • Projects must be entered in the state where the project is located
    • The Jury will be selected before the entries are called for, and publicised at the time of calling for awards.
    • Projects can be entered in as many categories as the entrant wishes. A fee is required for each category entered.
    • Projects are eligible to be entered into the awards for an unlimited period and can be entered in multiple years if unsuccessful.

    In brief, the new fees are:

    In 2016, AILA is offering your first entry FREE. We want to encourage all our members to participate in this brand new and improved awards program, and to celebrate our 50th birthday. Free entry applies to the first entry submitted per practice (per state) where a member is employed.

    The entry fee to the AILA National Landscape Architecture Awards is now set at $299 +GST, which applies to any subsequent entries made in 2016. The increase in fee allows for automatic resubmission into National Awards (for those eligible), and no further payment is required for those entrants progressing to National awards.

    Please note - You must use the below promo code at the time of entry to ensure your first entry is free

    promo code is: firstawardsentry2016

    Thank you to our awards partners: 


    Principal Corporate Partner - ACT Awards

    Major Corporate Partners - ACT Awards
    Supporting Corporate Partners - ACT Awards
    ACT Award Event Partners
    Award Categories

    In brief, our new awards categories are:

    • Category 1:Civic Landscape
    • Category 2:Parks and Open Space
    • Category 3:Infrastructure
    • Category 4:Cultural Heritage
    • Category 5:Land Conservation
    • Category 6:Rural and Agriculture
    • Category 7:Tourism
    • Category 8:Urban Design
    • Category 9:Research, Policy and Communication
    • Category 10:Communities
    • Category 11:Gardens
    • Category 12:International (offered only at national level and not state level)

    In brief, our new awards are given as;

    (a) Award of Excellence

    The first and highest award in each category is the ‘Award of Excellence’.

    The award is given to the work judged to be the most significant for the advancement of Landscape Architecture in each category. There is only one winner of the Award in each category in any year.

    (b) Landscape Architecture Award

    The second tier is the ‘Landscape Architecture Award’.

    This is a work of excellence demonstrating consummate skill that contributes to the advancement of landscape architecture. Projects given an Award are the best projects in each category that have not won the Excellence Award. More than one Award may be given in a category.

    ACT 2016 Awards Jury
    Tweets Tweet to @AILA_National