Australian Institute of Landscape Architects honours the leaders in Australian landscape

The Australian Institute of Landscape Architects (AILA) has announced the winners of the National Landscape Architecture Awards for 2017, a celebration of the leading projects shaping green, open and public spaces across Australia.

The annual awards program acknowledges the growing impact of landscape architecture on the spaces we inhabit, and recognises projects that stand out for their innovative approaches, that push the boundaries, or are considered to be of national significance.

This year the Jury reviewed 81 projects that had progressed through from the State awards programs. With 14 categories ranging from Civic Landscapes to Play Spaces, Infrastructure to Land Management, Urban Design to Cultural Heritage and more, 28 projects were selected for national recognition. Nine of those received the highest accolade, a National Award of Excellence. 

Linda Corkery, National Awards Jury Chair, commented on this year’s winners: “It was a privilege to review and reward the many outstanding achievements of Australian landscape architects during this National Awards process. The body of work being produced is truly impressive and the diversity of project types and scales is expanding all the time.”

The AILA National Awards Program showcases the true diversity of the profession. Both urban and regional projects shone amongst this year’s winners, with one winning project in a remote location in the Pilbara region of WA creating a multi functional play space named the ‘Fish Bowl’, that shimmers on the hot surface, creating can embodied mirage for local youth.

“It is exciting to see landscape architects around Australia leading the planning and design of projects that are creating more vibrant, healthy and inclusive communities; renewing ecological systems; and fostering resilient social, natural and built environments,” Linda continues.

Alongside regional winners were projects of dramatic urban impact, including the urban design for the K2K – Kensington to Kingsford – Precinct in eastern Sydney, which envisioned the reinvigoration of Anzac Parade enabling it to regain its grandeur and articulating an inspired vision for the future.

Projects likewise ranged from the mega to micro scale, with Awards of Excellence recognising both the restrained elegance achieved in the large-scale infrastructure project of the Remembrance Drive Interchange at Ballarat, VIC, while also honouring the sophisticated sensory delight offered in a private residential garden.

The Jury noted that, just as “sustainable design” is an expected objective of landscape projects, genuine community engagement and multidisciplinary collaborations are also now “business as usual”. They also enjoyed the extensive use of technology to communicate project outcomes—particularly drone photography and videos—which provided a better appreciation of the projects’ impacts. 

“It is a thrill to see the creativity, the collaboration with local communities and with Australia’s Aboriginal heritage embodied in so many of this year’s projects. The profession of landscape architecture in Australia continues to evolve and expand in reach and influence, and this year’s Awards are an extraordinary display of what is possible in this industry.”
The 2017 National Landscape Architecture Awards took place on Thursday 12th October at The Grounds of Alexandria as part of the International Festival of Landscape Architecture: The 3rd City. To find out more information, head to:


Assets: Dropbox link: Full list of winners [confidential until 13h October] Interview opportunities with Linda Corkery – National Awards Jury Chair & AILA National President

Note to editor There are two national award categories; (a) Award of Excellence [listed below, also included in the dropbox] The first and highest award in each category. The award is given to the work judged to be the most significant for the advancement of Landscape Architecture in each category. There is only one winner of the Excellence Award in each category in any year. (b) Landscape Architecture Award [please see the dropbox] The second tier is the ‘Landscape Architecture Award’. This is a work of excellence demonstrating consummate skill that contributes to the advancement of landscape architecture. Projects given an Award are the best projects in each category that have not won the Excellence Award. More than one Award may be given in a category. **** LIST OF NATIONAL WINNERS – AWARD OF EXCELLENCE

Note: Award of Excellence (first and highest category) not awarded in all categories in 2017.


Category 2: Parks & Open Space

Project name: Wootten Road Reserve Interpretation Space

State: VIC

Entrant Practice: Glas Landscape Architects


Category 3: Play Spaces

Project name: Onslow Youth Space

State: WA

Entrant Practice: Convic Pty Ltd


Category 4: Infrastructure

Project name: Remembrance Drive Interchange

State: VIC

Entrant Practice: Oculus Landscape Architects


Category 8: Urban Design

Project name: K2K Urban Design

State: NSW

Entrant Practice: Hill Thalis/JMD Design


Category 9: Landscape Planning

Project name: Vibrant Towns of the Scenic Rim

State: QLD

Entrant Practice: John Mongard Landscape Architects


Category 10: Research, Policy & Communication

Project name: Book: Landscape Architecture and Environmental Sustainability: Creating Positive Change Through Design

State: VIC

Entrant Practice: Joshua Zeunert


Category 11: Community Contribution

Project name: Cool Streets Pilot Project

State: NSW

Entrant Practice: Libby Gallagher Studio


Category 12: Small Projects

Project name: Colonel Light Centre Forecourt

State: SA

Entrant Practice: City of Adelaide


Category 13: Garden Landscapes

Project name: Private Client

State: VIC

Entrant Practice: TCL Landscape Architects

Tweets Tweet to @AILA_National